Completely non Surro related..

I couldn’t help but post about my attempt at making a snack the other day. This specific snack recipe came from the notorious Pinterest. Yes I am a Pinterest ADDICT. And I must say I’ve Been able to make some crafts and edible foods from this site that completely consumes me at times. One such recipe I failed miserably at was the home made fruit roll up. I have wanted to try this for so long. It only took fresh strawberries and sugar! And finally the berries went on a mega sale at the store so I could buy a bunch.
It seemed easy enough. Purée berries. Add sugar. Spread onto parchment paper lined baking sheet. Bake at 170 until it’s no longer sticky. Ok this part was deceiving. Or my oven just sucks. A few recipes said for about 4hrs and others said 6-8hrs. Well at 4, my purée was still soupy. Everywhere. At 8hrs the ends were starting to dry like they were supposed to. By ten hrs most of it was finally just sticky. So I left it in the oven for a tad longer to make it less sticky to touch. Then left it out overnight (which directions say to do). By morning it was like overly cooked crispy bacon. It smelled great but didn’t come off the parchment, and crumbled everywhere. What. The. Hell. I was not happy. So much for the fruit roll up. I’m too cheap to buy a dehydrator. I had to at least try a piece to see what it tasted like. Except I couldn’t get any off the parchment. So I just licked it a few times. Sad I know. Not sure if I need an ok to post the links I used on Pinterest so I won’t post them yet but I failed TERRIBLY.
So here is a pic of how pretty it looked when it first went into the oven.

20140317-224258.jpg

And why not show a belly pic as well? Beginning the 27th week! Oh and a hair cut :).

20140317-224447.jpg

About sarah

I am 31 years old , married, with a spunky 5 year old daughter, and a cuddly almost 4 year old son. I am a stay at home mom that spends her days chasing kids and two wiener dogs around the house, playing games, learning new things, and just spending time with my family , who are my life. I am also pursuing my dream of becoming a gestational surrogate, and this blog is all about my journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

