The potential big D word

Diabeetus. Ha I couldn’t help myself. Anytime I see or hear the word diabetes I think of that one commercial. So I had my one hour glucose test last week? Maybe a week and a half ago and the MA called me last Tuesday to inform me lightly that I had failed. Yes FAILED. I was like um, really? I’ve never failed the one hour. Not that it’s like a written test that I’ve taken before. But I’ve never had any problems with blood sugar or anything related. So it sort of came as a shock to me. Oh well. She told me to come in anytime for the three hour. As early as I could since I would have to fast from midnight on.
So into the office is strolled this morning at 8am sharp with a pillow, my comfy pants and tablet to keep me company.
Except that I wasn’t allowed to use the wifi. Bah! So much for the tablet. So I got poked when I first arrived then had to immediately drink that wonderful glucose juice and then get poked once every hour after that three more times. I finally left about 11:15, feeling odd. Not so hungry anymore but definitely in need of something. They wouldn’t even let me drink water!
All day I’ve been kind of woozy. Just not feeling right. I slept during the kids naps. Had some dinner and yet still not myself. I just hope I’m not coming down with something. Yuck.
So I hope I find out soon if I’ve passed this one or not. I hear the diabetic diet is super strict but I’ve also heard it’s not as bad as people say. I suppose I’ll find out if my test comes back bad!
In the meantime these twins are growing! My back has been hurting more and my stomach feels more stretched then ever. Almost like it wants to rip down the center or sketching. I hope my hernia isn’t getting worse.
Only two weeks from today and mommy to be will be here to see these babies of hers! I CANT WAIT for that.
Meanwhile, I’ll update when I hear the results of this here diabeetus test!!

About sarah

I am 31 years old , married, with a spunky 5 year old daughter, and a cuddly almost 4 year old son. I am a stay at home mom that spends her days chasing kids and two wiener dogs around the house, playing games, learning new things, and just spending time with my family , who are my life. I am also pursuing my dream of becoming a gestational surrogate, and this blog is all about my journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

