The results are in….

Let me just say it’s not been fun waiting for these results. I’ve gone back and forth on how I’d have to re modify my (lack of) diet and how I was going to do so. I mean, how was I supposed to give up Easter candy?! And my entirely way too long list of delicious sweet breakfast foods I just can’t live without? I mean, not only is it the most important meal of the day but it’s by far my favorite! Now don’t get me wrong, I don’t load up on the sweet breakfasts and candy all day, but who doesn’t indulge every so often when they are pregnant?
Just having to go in for the three hour test according to my “informed” parents meant to them that I am indeed diabetic and refused to let me eat any dessert or snack like food at all when I was around them. They kind of take things to the extreme. So that only put me in a mood to want to strangle them and gorge on their variety of sweets they have in their house. I barely have self control how on earth am I supposed to do this every day until the babies are born??
The bright side would of course be that I will obviously be eating healthier and surely it would slow down my weight gain which is exactly what I do want. I mean, I know I’m carrying two, but to me the increase in the ol LB department sure seems to be climbing faster then I’m comfortable with.
Ok ok, have I worried enough yet? The call from my dr comes right at naptime. It’s the MA. “You’re blood work came back completely normal, you are fine.” Hallelujah, hallelujah! I worried for nothing! Ha! I know I’m pretty darn lucky since the risk is greater with twins. Even luckier that this is just another hurdle I jumped right over. M and D are relieved as well. M is flying out here a week from tomorrow and we both are so excited and can’t wait!!
So now that I am officially not a diabetic, let the Easter candy flow! In moderation though!
I will do some stat updates here too since it’s been a while.

Gestation: 27 weeks and a handful of days. I’ve lost precise count at this point.
Weight up: 29lbs. Damn chocolate candy.
Symptoms: back aches, big time leg cramps, lots of Braxton hicks contractions.
Cravings: fruit, chocolate, Mongolian BBQ which doesn’t exist near me.
Aversions: hamburger meat
Mood: mostly happy with sleepiness thrown in there.
Maternity wear: yeah. Most maternity clothes no longer cover my belly. I think part of it has to do with that I’m not 5 foot 5 so since I’m so much taller, getting anything to cover me is hard and now even maternity shirts are a part of the issue. And I’m the size of a full term pregnant woman. Oh and I still have two and a half months to go. Shopping for shirts/dresses has become a nightmare.
Where’s a local tall clothing shop when you need one?! Ah the joys of being a female version of Andre the giant.

About sarah

I am 31 years old , married, with a spunky 5 year old daughter, and a cuddly almost 4 year old son. I am a stay at home mom that spends her days chasing kids and two wiener dogs around the house, playing games, learning new things, and just spending time with my family , who are my life. I am also pursuing my dream of becoming a gestational surrogate, and this blog is all about my journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

