The home stretch

Wow. It’s so strange to know that by this exact moment next wed I will no longer be pregnant and my IPs will be parents. This pregnancy has gone so swift and so fast. I have been so blessed to not have any complications and have just a normal pregnancy. The only differences being there’s two, and this last month has been more physically painful then when I was pregnant with just one. It’s been so worth it all.
I had my regular Monday appt two days ago and the twins are doing fantastic. They still wouldn’t measure how much they weigh but I think I whined enough that they might at tomorrow’s appt. little boy was head down as of last week and I made the tech make sure he was still in his rightful spot, but unbelievably he has flipped back to his breech position. She, along with myself and the doctor were in shock. The doctor couldn’t believe he had flipped in less than a week. Might I add that I am 36 weeks now and most single babies don’t have enough room to flip let alone when there is another in the way! So as of right now we are still on for a c section and I will know for sure if I go in wed morning vs tues night on Tuesday morning when we do our last ultrasound and check up. Who knows what these last 5 days will bring when it comes to this little feisty boy!
I have progressed to 2-3cm dilated but was told no one is putting pressure down there so doc says I’ll make it to the 28th. My fingers are crossed and I’ve been praying like mad that they just stay put until M and D arrive at least. Speaking of which, thy decided they are heading out this evening instead of waiting until Friday to get going on the road. Yes they are driving across country. It’s a long drive for them (and the babies once they arrive), but I’m glad for them that they chose this route instead of flying home with the twins. Planes carry all kinds of sickness and with two babies that are coming three weeks early, best not to subject them to the air in those planes. I just can’t wait for them to get here. I’ve been praying they make their way here safely as well. God sure has been good to us. He has kept me healthy, and these babies healthy, and given me strength and stamina throughout this pregnancy to still care for my kids. Yes, I do less physically, but in doing so, my kids have begun to learn at an early age some responsibility. Such as picking up their own toys, cleaning off their plates at dinner, miss T feeds the dogs and they both put their clothes in their own hampers now. Things that I used to do for them, they are or have learned to do for themselves. Which in my opinion is not a bad thing. They are becoming more independent rather than relying on me for every single thing. Plus I can still give cuddles and hugs and reassurances when needed.
My husband has managed to keep up as well. He has had to take on house work like bath tub scrubbing and bathing our son. He also vacuums and helps with house cleaning in general. Things I am sure he will be glad to hand back to me once I recover! But he hasn’t complained and when we have talked he has reassured me he is fine since this is only temporary. My parents have been a great support as well. When I am over for dinner when hubby works late, they help by giving the kids a bath or doing a little physical play with them. I know they don’t want me to do this again and it really makes me sad to hear it as much as I have to, but I know I could do this again. Especially if it were a single pregnancy and not a twin pregnancy. Hubby and I have gone over pros and cons for doing it again and can’t find more cons to out weigh the pros right now. But that’s for the future. I may be the one to say no more. I just don’t know. What I do know is I have 7 days left of feeling these little miracles move. 7 days left until M and D’s dream comes true. I am so ready for them to meet their babies and at the same time I’m almost sad that this whole thing is coming to an end. I’ve become so close to them. Maybe it’s the hormones that make me tear up when I think about next week. It will be nice to get back to a somewhat normal life without doctor appts and physical restrictions though.
Thought I’d post a pic of the ol belly, along with a slightly swollen ankle!
Cheers to one week and counting!!!

20140521-132301.jpg

20140521-132313.jpg

About sarah

I am 31 years old , married, with a spunky 5 year old daughter, and a cuddly almost 4 year old son. I am a stay at home mom that spends her days chasing kids and two wiener dogs around the house, playing games, learning new things, and just spending time with my family , who are my life. I am also pursuing my dream of becoming a gestational surrogate, and this blog is all about my journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The home stretch

  1. Pati says:

    I, personally think that you are wonderful for doing this… I am not hormonal.. But, to make this dream come true for these parents is nothing short of amazing! I vote for you to do it again after a year or so?! I am proud of you!

Leave a Reply

