Day 6 post partum

I have to say today was slightly painful upon waking up. I was up a lot last night trying to get comfy and didn’t sleep much in the process. The girls are definitely more sore today as well! At least that pain will go away in just a few short days (if I remember correctly). The best thing to have on hand in times of full sore boobs??

20140603-230757-83277119.jpg
Yep! Nice, COLD, cabbage comes in handy. Nothing like cabbage and an abdominal binder to make your healing body feel less broken during the first week or so of recovery! Oh and it helps to have a positive attitude as well. I’ve been very proud of myself lately for how well my body has held up through all I’ve put it though. I did have a moment or two in front of the mirror earlier where I looked at my poor (shrinking but still bigger than id like) stomach and thought, this isn’t going to go down. Ugh I’m going to have to have a major tummy tuck or something! But then I remembered and calmed myself that it’s only BARELY been a week. That is one thing I am not so good at, is patience.
I’ve also had a few reminders that I need to keep it slow when doing things. I don’t know how, but every SINGLE shower I have taken, INCLUDING the ones in the hospital, I have managed to drop the stupid soap. Tonight was no different. Really?! You would think I would have a method now to keep this from happening since it’s hard to bend all the way over to pick it up!
I’ve also had a few moments on the ol’ porcelain throne where I would turn a little too quickly for the toilet paper and that burning ripping of flesh sensation comes all to quickly to put me back in my place! I’ll end up sittin there or in the shower after giving myself a good accidental dose of pain and think really Sarah? Haven’t you learned how to go slower yet? I blame all the medications I’m on.
This respiratory fluid is driving me insane. My cough is still totally gross and I can still hear the gurgling when I exhale and it gets so annoying sometimes! I only have two days of antibiotic left and I’m hoping by then it will be better.
I’ve managed to get my 2 week check up pushed forward to Monday instead of Wednesday so the doctor can check this belly button knot out that I’ve been totally grossed out and scared of. It’s most likely a hernia I assume, but I’m anxious to find out if I need it fixed, how soon, etc etc. It’s kind of sore and just barely above my belly button but when I push on it (I know don’t push on it right?) boy does it hurt! So I’ve been worrying myself over it because it’s on me and it’s slightly painful! If it were anyone else, I’d be wanting to look at it and touch it but no way not when it’s me!!

So aside from this tumor I have next to my belly button, I’d say recovery is still going smoothly! All in all, today wasn’t so bad.
And the new parents are less than a day away from arriving home with the twins which I couldn’t be happier about. I can’t wait for them to be home and settled together as a family. 🙂

About sarah

I am 31 years old , married, with a spunky 5 year old daughter, and a cuddly almost 4 year old son. I am a stay at home mom that spends her days chasing kids and two wiener dogs around the house, playing games, learning new things, and just spending time with my family , who are my life. I am also pursuing my dream of becoming a gestational surrogate, and this blog is all about my journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

