Transfer date, and a lesson in parenthood.

We have a new transfer date; March 26th!! Im already getting excited for it. But as for anything else, not much is going on. Just waiting to find out in the next couple of weeks when I’ll start my medications up again.
So on a slightly different note, I’ve recently come to the conclusion that young kids my daughters’ age, 4/5, must secretly be talking to each other about how to successfully stall at bedtime. I used to think I was alone in these well thought out tactics, until recently when a few of my fellow mom friends began explaining their kids’ bedtime troubles. I’ve realized these kids of ours have actually mastered the art of stalling unlike any excuse I ever remember getting away with. Allow me to explain.
Number 1: Bath/Jammie time struggles. I bathe my kids at night. Boy do they make this part of the evening drag when they refuse to take their clothes off for bath, even though you have spent most of the day convincing them not to get naked in public or just because they don’t want to wear clothes. Then once in the bath, they suddenly do not want to get out and the fight to let them stay in just a few minutes to play ensues. After all, you wrestled them like an alligator to get in the bath in the first place so what’s a few minutes now?
Number 2: A sudden extreme interest in food. After trying all throughout the dinner hour to get our kid to eat with no success, we eventually give up with a “no snack or anything until tomorrow” answer only for our child to decide after bath that they are starving and need SOMETHING to eat or they won’t survive the night, consequently pushing back bedtime a few minutes while we decide if they truly will parish without food all night.
Number 3: The missing blankie.  My kids have established a need for as many security blankets, stuffed animals, and “friends” as possible. I’ve learned that this too must be a part of the grand plan to stall. Once you finally get them to their bed, suddenly they realize which friend or blankie is still missing. I don’t know how they do it with ten items surrounding them already, but heaven forbid we go to sleep without that stuffed duck we haven’t been interested in since we were 6 months old! So more precious minutes tick off the clock as we, the parent, search with serious effort to find this friend knowing full well that our child will refuse entirely to even attempt to sleep if that stuffed friend is not found.
Number 4: Chatter bug time. If you are lucky enough to have found the missing stuffed friend, or security blanket, and managed to get them into bed by now, this is usually the time they suddenly want to strike up a conversation with you. What happened on that TV commercial they saw, what’s going on tomorrow, what day is tomorrow? What time is it? Why is the sky blue, and the list goes on and on, basically making it impossible for us to leave the room.
Lesson 5: The creak of an opening door. I dread this noise. Once I manage to escape the bedroom after being interrogated about everything my child can conjure up, and saying a few more last minute I Love Yous, it means now starts the “after bed rituals” my kid has developed quite well. It becomes a no holding back situation. She asks to blow her nose because even though she hates blowing her nose, she now can’t sleep if it’s not blown. And her lips are suddenly chapped and she is in desperate need of relief. Oh and her supply cup is out of water and she is dying of thirst.  Then she can’t cover herself up on her own and needs help covering up because she is so cold.
I have begun to realize just how much time all of this takes up at night and I’m not sure whether to get frustrated from being so tired after these shenanigans, or laugh at my daughters amazing ability to extend her bedtime way beyond the time I’ve set for her!
It’s crazy though how easy it is for us as parents to get angry and frustrated at these situations that our kids will indeed grow out of, when there are those who are desperate and all too willing to have these very issues with a child of their own. If only they could have a child.
I hope to be able to help K and N be successful in March so that one day they too can experience the amazing intelligence of their own kid(s).

About sarah

I am 31 years old , married, with a spunky 5 year old daughter, and a cuddly almost 4 year old son. I am a stay at home mom that spends her days chasing kids and two wiener dogs around the house, playing games, learning new things, and just spending time with my family , who are my life. I am also pursuing my dream of becoming a gestational surrogate, and this blog is all about my journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

