Freaking. Out.

Well I started my progesterone shots on Saturday evening. Last night after I had taken my second shot, I noticed a jelly like substance sitting in the bottom of the vial. So I looked at the other two unopened vials in the closet and sue enough they had this same jelly. So I sorry of panicked and emailed the clinic explaining my findings and sending a picture of the evidence with. I was told to call the pharmacy and they would tell me what needed to be done. So I called this morning and was told that it’s the actual progesterone that had come out of the oil solution and it can happen in the higher doses of these. The new  protocol was to heat it up in hot water until it completely dissolved before injections. So I relayed the info to my clinic. Luckily it wasn’t just me who was kind of uncomfortable with how to approach this situation because my nurse told me they called the pharmacy and are having new vials sent asap to me in the morning in a different oil solution, that I just needed to do the water bath for tonight’s injection. Relief!! Fast forward to this evening and I placed my vial in a HOT water bath and waited. And refilled and waited. And did this for about half an hour before I started to panic again. This progesterone jelly is not dissolving like it’s supposed to!! Back on the phone with the overnight on call pharmacist in NJ, she says to place vial in water in an oven safe container and hear it up to 275 degrees for about half an hour and that should do the trick. Also not to worry, that progesterone levels won’t plummet overnight. So here I sit, waiting and watching this vial in the oven so I can do my shot that is supposed to happen in early evening so I can move around for a while after. All this medication anxiety and I’m supposed to have the transfer in three days!!

image

Yep. Here she bakes.
Blood work in the morning just to confirm progesterone levels.
To be continued…..

About sarah

I am 31 years old , married, with a spunky 5 year old daughter, and a cuddly almost 4 year old son. I am a stay at home mom that spends her days chasing kids and two wiener dogs around the house, playing games, learning new things, and just spending time with my family , who are my life. I am also pursuing my dream of becoming a gestational surrogate, and this blog is all about my journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

